The Bud-Jet flight

People born in the 1980s, known as “millennials,” have witnessed significant changes. Things we could never have imagined as children.

Telephone:-

We had seen landline telephones, and I recall running to pick it up when it first rang in our house, and occasionally we siblings would quarrel and take turns picking up the call.

Television:-

There used to be only a few channels on television, and our screen time was restricted by the channel authorities. We used to look forward to our favourite cartoon shows, and our families would watch movies together on weekends.

Computer:-

Computers were large boxes in schools, and we used to be told to take our shoes off outside the computer rooms when we had computer classes ( as if we were dealing with an intensive care unit).

Mobile:-

Then there were mobile phones, which I recall costing as much as ₹21/- for incoming calls and I don’t recall paying for outbound calls because I wasn’t allowed to make any calls from my parents’ phone.

As the millenium progressed, so did our lives, and things we had only heard of became more accessible. Mobile phones have evolved from a luxury to a necessity, and the internet has become a vital part of our daily life. The size of computers has shrunk from colossal tabletop machines to small and light laptops, or should I say easy-to-carry tabs.

When it comes to travel , I had only seen and heard of people travelling by plane as a child. And I used to wave to all the planes and helicopters from the ground, hoping they’d notice me.

And when I got a chance, it was a wonderful experience. I remember my initial days of travelling by air, it was a 5star experience, passengers were welcomed with warm clean towels to freshen up themselves. Followed by a water bottle and welcome drink. For a little longer than 1 & half hour flight food was also catered, so till the time u have your juice meal and coffee break, the flight used to ready for landing.

There used to be full comfort, more leg room and one could have easily reclined well on the seat and slept comfortably even if you are travelling in economy.

The revolution in air travel has made it more affordable and accessible. People like me have been able to do so thanks to low-cost carriers.

The airline sector has changed dramatically in the previous 20 years.

My recent air trip has trashed all my old fond memories. I traveled by air after almost around 8-9 years, and the glamour of the airlines was over . I was astonished to see the number of passengers travelling by air has increased tremendously. Leg room has been restricted to the point where if I recline my seat, my hair will be in the mouth of the passenger behind me. As a result, I did not stretch my legs.

About the refreshments, the snacks on board was available, but it was paid. A few of my fellow passengers have taken out their tiffins and dug in that ignoring the cabin crews’ approach whether they wants to buy Something?

But all I saw were a number of thrilled and excited children whose parents would not have been able to afford this trip if it hadn’t been for a low-cost airline.

These budget airlines are a boom for many of those who had only dreamt of flying in an aircraft. The leg room and the snacks on board , and warm towels doesn’t matter for a lot many who have got a chance to fly to their destination.

And yes travelling by air is an experience in itself……..

#wordpress #blogger #traveller #thoughts #iamwriting #airlines #lifestyle

Published by sakshijasrotia

Lifestyle Blogger, traveller, educator environmentalist Sees world with positivity

One thought on “The Bud-Jet flight

Leave a comment